Usually no. Independent coding-agent orchestrators charge for the workspace or control plane, while you bring the provider subscription or API key that pays for inference. Vendor cloud agents such as Anthropic Managed Agents and Cursor Cloud Agents meter model usage at API or public list rates.
The prices and product boundaries below were checked on 2026-10-06.
Key facts about AI agent orchestrators
- On 2026-10-06, Conductor listed Free at $0, Pro at $50 per month, and Teams at $60 per user per month. Its cloud workspaces accept the user's subscriptions or API keys.
- On 2026-10-06, Superset listed Free at $0 and Pro at $20 per user per month billed monthly or $15 billed yearly. It says users supply their own coding-agent accounts and that Superset does not proxy API calls.
- On 2026-10-06, Orca described itself as a desktop IDE that gives each task a git worktree and agent terminal. Its documentation says to bring an existing Claude, Codex, or OpenCode subscription.
- On 2026-10-01, Unstoppable's product page described first-class Claude Code and Codex integrations, arbitrary CLI agents, and parallel sessions in isolated worktrees.
- On 2026-10-06, Anthropic's Managed Agents budget documentation priced model tokens at public list rates, web searches at $10 per 1,000, and session running time at $0.08 per hour.
- On 2026-10-06, Cursor's Cloud Agents documentation said runs are charged at API pricing for the selected model and require a spend limit.
Independent orchestrators separate workspace and model billing
An independent orchestrator manages execution around an agent. It can create a worktree, open a terminal, start several sessions, or provide a remote workspace. The underlying agent account still belongs to the developer.
Orca makes that boundary explicit. Its documentation says Orca is not a model and runs agents the developer already uses. Each task gets its own git worktree and agent terminal, and the supported setup assumes an existing Claude, Codex, or OpenCode subscription.
Superset makes the same separation in a different product shape. Its pricing page says repositories, worktrees, terminal output, and agent sessions stay local by default. It also says Superset does not proxy API calls and that every plan requires the user's own Claude Code, Codex, OpenCode, or other CLI-agent account.
Conductor shows how an orchestrator can charge for infrastructure while leaving inference to the user's account. Its Free plan covers local Mac workspaces. Pro adds cloud workspaces and costs $50 per month, while Teams costs $60 per user per month. Conductor says cloud workspaces accept subscriptions or API keys and that there is no additional cloud-workspace fee on the page checked on 2026-10-06. The same page says usage-based cloud-compute pricing may come later.
Conductor, Superset, Orca, and Unstoppable use different control-plane boundaries
Tool | Workspace price listed on 2026-10-06 | What the product page says about inference |
|---|---|---|
Conductor | Free at $0; Pro at $50/month; Teams at $60/user/month | Bring a subscription or API key, including in cloud workspaces |
Superset | Free at $0; Pro at $20/user/month monthly or $15/user/month yearly | Bring an existing coding-agent account; Superset does not proxy API calls |
Orca | Not stated on the cited documentation page | Bring an existing Claude, Codex, or OpenCode subscription |
Unstoppable | Not stated on the cited product page | Use first-class Claude Code and Codex integrations or another CLI agent |
Unstoppable's page carries a comparison date of 2026-10-01. It describes the same basic pattern as Orca and Superset: the product organizes provider accounts and parallel worktrees around the user's coding-agent accounts.
Anthropic Managed Agents and Cursor Cloud Agents meter model usage
The boundary changes when the vendor also supplies the managed runtime and model access. Anthropic's Managed Agents documentation defines a session's list cost as the sum of model-token charges, web searches at $10 per 1,000 searches, and runtime at $0.08 per active hour. A budget stops new model requests when that list-cost total reaches its cap.
Cursor's Cloud Agents documentation uses a similar provider-metered model. Cloud Agents run in isolated cloud virtual machines, and Cursor says they are charged at API pricing for the selected model. Cursor also asks the user to set a spend limit when first using the feature.
These are not contradictions. They are two different products sold under the broad label "agent orchestration." A control-plane product can charge for workspaces and leave inference with the account holder. A managed agent product can charge for both the runtime and the model requests.
Choosing an AI agent orchestrator
- Check the account boundary. Confirm whether the product accepts a provider subscription, an API key, or both.
- Check the workspace meter. On 2026-10-06, Conductor listed no extra cloud-workspace fee but said usage-based cloud-compute pricing may be introduced later.
- Check the data path. Conductor says local messages go directly to the coding-model provider, while cloud sessions store inputs and outputs on Conductor's servers. Superset says local repositories and agent sessions stay on the user's machine and that it does not proxy API calls.
- Check the provider's own meter. Anthropic Managed Agents and Cursor Cloud Agents price model work through list or API rates, even when their interfaces look like ordinary orchestrators.
Sources
- Conductor pricing and cloud workspace FAQ: https://www.conductor.build/pricing (read 2026-10-06)
- Orca documentation: https://www.onorca.dev/docs (read 2026-10-06)
- Superset pricing and FAQ: https://superset.sh/pricing (read 2026-10-06)
- Anthropic Managed Agents session budgets: https://platform.claude.com/docs/en/managed-agents/budgets (read 2026-10-06)
- Cursor Cloud Agents: https://cursor.com/docs/cloud-agent (read 2026-10-06)
- Unstoppable bring-your-own-subscription product page: https://app.unstoppable.ai/products/bring-your-own-subscription (read 2026-10-06)
Last verified: 2026-10-06.